12th Dec 2019

Amazing success at the Wales Sports Awards 2019

The Wales Sport Awards were held at the Celtic Manor Resort in Newport on Tuesday 10th December 2019. The awards honoured sporting heroes from all over Wales. Jointly held by BBC Cymru Wales and Sport Wales, it celebrates the best of Welsh sport from grassroots to elite.

Sabrina Fortune came second with Welsh rugby legend Alun Wyn Jones winning the public vote for the main award of the evening, the BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2019. It was a great end to 2019 for Sabrina after winning her first World title in the World Championships in Dubai in November.  Menna Fitzpatrick and Hollie Arnold were also nominated for the main award after amazing years for both.

Other winners on the night included Lily Rice who won the Carwyn James Young Sportswoman of the Year. The fifteen-year-old WCMX World Champion won the DSW emerging athlete of the year award earlier this summer. Lily whilst on stage said her ultimate dream was to be a Paralympian.

Mia Lloyd also picked up her award for Inspiring Person of the Year 2019 after it was announced via social media last week. The 12 year old cancer survivor who had an above-the-knee amputation now takes part in athletics, wheelchair basketball, swimming, golf, climbing, adaptive skiing and para-cycling.

Fiona Reid, CEO of Disability Sport Wales said, “The evening was a genuine reflection of the sheer talent within Welsh Sport and sport in Wales.  Para athletes alongside non-Para athletes of now and probably the future, within a huge range of sports, inspiring and being inspired.”



Mwy na gem, trawsnewid bywyd

Mwy na gem, trawsnewid bywyd


It is with great sadness that we have been informed that John Sellwood, Head of Culture, Leisure and Sport Developm… https://t.co/WNvCEIgJpl

#InThisTogether with Ashleigh Hellyer over on our YouTube channel at 12pm! #Inspire https://t.co/ua8PuDLVQ7… https://t.co/KjNLObEqaI

RT 🏉 GAMES OFF | #WalesRL's spring @IntRL programme has been completely postponed. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 @RlWales Students,… https://t.co/Ph0A0aZmmB

Congratulations for receiving this award 👏 #inclusion https://t.co/982izrqQa7